If your license has been suspended by the North Carolina DMV for a Driving While License Revoked (DWLR) conviction or a moving violation conviction during a period of suspension, our experienced attorneys at The Law Offices of Wiley Nickel may be able to help you obtain a limited driving privilege in Wake County.
How can a Limited Driving Privilege get me back on the road?
This special DWLR limited driving privilege is primarily intended for work-related driving on the particular days and times specified by your employer. However, a judge may also allow driving for maintenance of the household (like grocery shopping, for example) during standard hours of 6:00 AM to 8:00 PM, Monday through Friday.
Do I qualify for a Limited Driving Privilege while my license is suspended?
The basic eligibility requirements for a DWLR limited driving privilege are:
- Revocation for DWLR or committing a moving violation during a period of suspension is the only revocation in effect;
- No revocations involving impaired driving;
- No pending motor vehicle charges, indefinite suspensions, or unpaid fines in NC or any other state;
- Compliance for a period of the revocation based on the length of suspension:
- 1 year suspension requires a 90 days compliance period
- 2 year suspension requires a 1 year compliance period
- Permanent suspension requires a 2 year compliance period
What are the next steps?
Once we have determined you’re eligible for a DWLR limited driving privilege, you’ll then need to provide us the following:
- A sworn affidavit of eligibility;
- A DL-123 proof of insurance form;
- Employer documentation describing your need to engage in work-related driving, including the specific days and times;
- $250 filing fee and $100 limited driving privilege fee.
Despite the strict eligibility requirements and significant documentation and costs involved, a DWLR limited driving privilege will get you back on the road legally and change the lives of you and your family. Even more importantly, if you successfully survive the privilege’s one year term, the North Carolina DMV must reinstate your license.
Contact a Raleigh Limited Driving Privilege Lawyer Today!
If you’ve been charged with a DWLR in Wake County or want to learn more about whether you’re eligible for a DWLR limited driving privilege, contact The Law Offices of Wiley Nickel at 919-585-1486 for a free consultation with our DWLR lawyers, Wiley Nickel and Mary Elizabeth Robertson. You can also contact them directly by email at firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com.