North Carolina is one of two states, the other being New York, that prosecutes youth as adults when they turn 16 years old. This leaves the door wide open for high school aged kids to blemish their permanent record.
Whether your child is charged with simple assault as a result of a school yard fight, property damage, possession of a drug or alcohol, larceny, or another charge, your actions to make the best of a bad situation are extremely important. If your child plans to apply to college, or hopes to get a summer job, the outcome of their case could make a big difference. You must act quickly to ensure the best results!
Encourage your Child to Earn a Dismissal!
While 16 year old kids are treated as adults, there are a number of diversion and deferral programs available. The charge may be dismissed as a result of successfully completing one of these programs.
Wake County offers a Teen Court Program that kids and teens 9-17 may participate in to earn a dismissal. The Teen Court program requires the defendant to stand before a jury of their peers and accept sanctions that they impose like community service, writing an apology letter, and paying restitution. Volunteer teens act as the attorneys, and the only adult involved in the hearing is the judge. Successfully participating and completing all of the sanctions imposed results in a dismissal of the charges!
What happens when the case is over?
Once your case is over, you should consider getting the charge expunged. There are special rules for offenders who were under 21 years old at the time they were charged with a crime. So, regardless of the outcome of your case, contact The Law Offices of Wiley Nickel, PLLC to learn how we can help you restore your child's record by getting an expunction.